NaNoWriMo is ending…

I am very disappointed in myself. And many of you who have been doing NaNoWriMo this year probably are as well. 50,000 words in a month. It’s a big hurdle, but I know for a fact that it is possible.

My first year I did about 34k words in the first four days. After that I kind of gave up a little. I didn’t have time, as I had gotten a job on the fifth day. My second job ever, in fact. Since then I have not been able to finish NaNoWriMo, or even come close.

This year has been no different, really. I decided to do a story that the idea I liked, but I had been unable to get very far in the story. Even trying to write it as a series of short stories has had no effect.

I tried to get my friends to join me, and they have, but without a word count or updates, it’s not the competition I was hoping for. None the less, I am going to try something different.

Five days left, and I am going to start over. 50,000 words in five days. I am not doing the story I had originally, however.

I am going to write Adrienne’s Story.

Adrienne is one of my most prolific characters. She is a character I would consider to be the most alive, the most realistic. The most developed.

She sits on my shoulder and comments about everything I do, everything I write. So she gets to have her story told this time.

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo is ending…

  1. That’s great. I am trying to see how much I can do in the last 4-5 days. I was busy with my exams until a few days ago. Rather than give up I am just going to push harder now. I think it’s achievable and if I don’t reach it, I would’ve written more than normally anyway. We can still compete! It’s never too late to NaNo. Good luck with your new story 🙂

    – Ermisenda

    • November really is an inconvenient time for a lot of people, I think. Between it being a busy time for most schools, a lot of people are working more to prepare for the Holidays.

      I hope yours goes well! It’s totally possible!
      Thanks, I hope it goes well. 🙂

  2. Congrats on starting again. While the nano goal seems to be clacking out a 50k word count, it really is all about setting up a writing schedule and being flexible with life as it interferes. Not done on Nov 30th? That’s okay. After all, the story takes as long as the story takes. Good luck and keep at it!

Leave a Reply

