LGBT Fantasy

I mentioned in a previous post [“Sexuality and Gender in Fiction“] that LGBT themes in fiction are rare. While there are some authors who have included such themes in their novels, and it is on the rise, it still isn’t exactly the norm. Wikipedia lists all [or at least most] of the LGBT-themed Speculative Fiction. But I noticed a few things:

  • Gay Male is the most common type, which is not surprising since men are “traditionally” the main consumer of fantasy novels.
  • Another thing I’ve noticed is they do not have a section for a few things: asexual, bisexual, or trans. [There is a small section for genderqueer, but it consists of one book.]
  • And thirdly, pertaining to the last one. I realize they may not mention asexual largely because it does not necessarily come up in fiction, even if the character is indeed asexual. [As in, if the character is asexual, there is simply no sex or romance in the novel and it not portrayed as relevant to the plot.] This is more common with male protagonists in general, but it would be hard to set aside a category for them because without asking the author, it is hard to determine whether the character is truly asexual or if the author didn’t want to include romance at all.

On that note, however, I do strive to make my novels more LGBT-friendly. Including the setting. My fantasy novels will include LGBT themes either directly or indirectly.

So if there are any novels you’d recommend, let me know! I know that Meredith Lackey is on my list, but if there is anything not included on the Wikipedia list, I’d love to read it!

 

5 thoughts on “LGBT Fantasy

  1. The characters I’ve been writing lately are borderline asexual. I’m not sure why. Possibly because they tend to be occupied with more pressing matters than romantic subplots, such as saving the world.

    • That’s completely legitimate, and like I was saying, it is far more common for characters to either be or seem asexual without notice due to the circumstances. A reader (and sometimes even an author) isn’t going to worry about the sexuality of a character if they’re too busy with an intense plot.

  2. I think an asexual character would look at sexual people and wonder what that was like, or feel that combination of envy and pity. I did when I felt asexual. So it is more that the novelist is not addressing romance, rather than the character is asexual.

    • That is true, though it is easier for the reader to see the character as asexual if they’re not addressing romance or sex. While it may be a large difference to the actual character and to the writer,it may not be much of a difference to the reader.
      Especially with older/wiser characters that could be seen as already having stuff figured out.

  3. I found your comments very interesting. I’ve just authored a non-fiction book for LBGTQ youth on dating violence. As far as I know my book is the only one written specifically for people who are LBGTQ. It’s good to hear fiction books with LBGTQ characters are on the rise, hopefully non-fiction will follow.

Leave a Reply

